Oh hey there! I wrote something!

Hello there! A few months ago, I started writing again. Well–I’m not sure if you can consider the brief attempt I made at writing a web serial as meaning I was previously a writer, but still. This time, I finished the story first. It’s just under 24k words according to Google Docs, but for some reason while I was writing it I started breaking it down into single-scene chapters. (A few were longer than that, but the point stands: they’re excessively short.) It’ll go up here every MWF at 5:00 PM EST.

I actually finished this story the day before the insurrection, but since the story involves an unstable ruler and oppression and a few other topical spoilers, I got cold feet. Also, the first act feels like it relies on shock, and there’s one morally atrocious character who I wasn’t sure was portrayed negatively enough. Finally, I drove myself crazy over a bunch of grammar points, like whether a conjunction followed by a subordinate dependent clause should be followed by a comma. (Ex: Bob was hacked, but [,?] since they shared accounts, Alice was too.) In general, I seem to have a problem with including too many commas; I also seem to capitalize Important Words even when they’re not Proper Nouns. But I think I fixed most of the typos. As for everything else? I got over myself. I’m just writing for fun; thankfully, nobody cares what I post.

If anybody reads this, however, do let me know if and how I messed up, along with what I did right. I’m not a writer, but I do want to improve!

Leave a comment